Scottish Mountain Bike Awards 2018

The Mountain Bike Centre of Scotland and Developing Mountain Biking in Scotland are delighted to announce the third annual Scottish Mountain Bike Awards, which will be hosted at the Scottish Mountain Bike Conference in Aviemore on Friday 23rd November 2018.

In the past two years the Scottish Mountain Bike Awards has grown from the first event held in Aviemore which attracted over 150 guests to the sold out event in 2017 hosted at the Drygate Brewery in Glasgow. This year we are excited to be continuing this success.

Scotland is widely recognised as a global leader in mountain biking and with the Scottish Mountain Bike Awards, there is the chance to highlight and celebrate all those that contribute towards making mountain biking world class.  

The awards are free to enter and include categories to cover all areas of the sport including tourism, clubs, riders, accommodation providers, product manufacturers and community groups. 

Scottish Mountain Bike Awards 2017 - MTB Friendly Provider of the Year

Scottish Mountain Bike Awards 2017 - MTB Friendly Provider of the Year

Business Awards

MTB Business Collaboration of the Year

This award highlights the successes of business and academic collaboration, showcasing current innovation in ‘Scottish Cycling Products’.   

  • 2017 Winner - Bycyclogical and University of Strathclyde (full shortlist)
  • 2016 Winner - Flaer and Edinburgh University

MTB Exporter of the Year

This award highlights the exporting success of Scottish business.

MTB Product Innovation

This award highlights current innovation in ‘Scottish Cycling Products’ by showcasing companies who are innovation in design, idea or method. 

Tourism Awards

Event of the Year

We have invited each Scottish MTB event organiser to nominate the events they are most proud of for this award.  We are so lucky to have such a broad spectrum of events to take part in across the country.  We know that many of you will have competed in at least one, if not all of these awesome events and we know that it’ll be a really difficult choice to make, but we asked you to choose your very favourite event, race or race series.   

MTB Friendly Accommodation Provider

 This Award celebrates those accommodation providers who provide a great service specific to mountain bikers in Scotland.  

MTB Provider of the Year

 We know that Scottish mountain bike businesses are amongst the best qualified and most professional tour operators, guides, skills instructors and coaches in the world. This award celebrates all of the above. 

MTB Photograph of the Year


Following the success of last year's  photograph category.  We are again including this in the 2018 categories.  A shortlist of 12 photographs will be selected, with the winner decided by public vote at the Scottish Mountain Bike Awards 2018.  

Email your entry to by Sunday 28th October.

Video of the Year


Scotland is an awesome place to live, ride, photograph and film.  We all know this and we wanted to showcase our fantastic landscape and sport by opening up this award.  

The winner was chosen by those people attending the Scottish Mountain Bike Awards 2018.

Participation Awards

MTB Club of the Year

There are so many fantastic MTB clubs in Scotland. Run by dedicated, passionate and totally committed individuals. We think that it is appropriate that this is celebrated and applauded. We ask you to nominate your Club if you think that it is the very best in Scotland.   

  • Winner 2017 - Midlothian Cycle Club
  • Winner 2016 - Arran High School MTB Club

MTB Community of the Year

 This award was designed to showcase the amazing work which is being delivered outside of the formal club structure  It is aimed at groups/associations/people/hubs who come together for the benefit of their local MTB community (eg trail builders, participation programmes, volunteering).  The award recognises local communities who encourage and develop mountain biking in their area. We are looking for communities who work together in an innovative way.   

MTB Local Hero

 This award celebrates and recognises a local hero nominated by someone in their community. We are looking for the local hero who has made the most impact to their local MTB community.  We ask you to nominate the person in your community, whom you believe contributes more to the local MTB scene than anyone else, without whom things just wouldn't happen. Someone whose absolute passion, dedication and  determination makes them stand out.


  • Winner 2017 - Barbara Murray and Euan Speirits
  • Winner 2016 - Sally Devlin

Female Rider of the Year

We will once again open up this category to public vote.

 We have chosen a shortlist of riders from XC, Enduro and DH who have really made an impact on the National or International scene in 2018.

Male Rider of the Year

 We have some pretty awesome riders in this country.  Some of them are causing quite a stir worldwide.  We want to give the public the chance to vote for their favourite Scottish rider this year.